Shallow

I took a shallow dive
To make me feel alive
But the bottom broke my nose
My arm, my leg, my toes

I took a shallow swim
On a careless whim
But the current was too strong
And something went quite wrong

I took a shallow bath
To wash away my wrath
But the water was too low
So my wrath it wouldn’t go

I took a shallow thought
That in my mind was caught
Tossed it in the air
And said that’s only fair

I took a shallow breath
To say hello to death
Who was knocking at my door
And now there’s nothing more

4 thoughts on “Shallow

Leave a Reply

