down the back straight (with thanks to Annie for the title)

it was the young woman’s hair that grabbed my attention
I could see it swishing from side to side as I grew near
tied up close to her scalp but free flowing through the air
long and like the mane of a horse but in such a beautiful way

as I neared I could see her power walking along the pavement
pink running shoes in stark contrast to all the gritty grey
white umbilical earphone cables dangled over her chest
connecting to the beat of her heart and the rhythm of her feet

I drove past this young woman in a ticking time bomb instant
her concentrated other worldly gaze unaware that I was there
she carried a self-confident demeanour whilst lost in thought
swishing her hair from side to side without a care

 

(I’m usually good with titles but can’t find one for this.
Please feel free to make a suggestion but don’t make it too obvious,
like ‘Swishing Hair’) 🙂

2 thoughts on “down the back straight (with thanks to Annie for the title)

Leave a Reply

